Visualizing recall signatures for Scott Fitzgerald

Lori, my wife, asked if there was any way to visualize the signatures she’s been collecting for the Senator Scott Fitzgerald’s recall. She was interested in both inspiring volunteers and in analyzing the distribution of signers. After finding a post about QGIS‘s Time Manager, this was relatively easy to pull off:

Short version of procedure

  1. Collect addresses in spreadsheet (LibreOffice).
  2. Modify date of signature to conform with Time Manager’s format and add random offset (so all signatures on the same day don’t appear at exactly the same time).
  3. Geocode using GPSVisualizer’s batch geocoder (built on Yahoo’s geocoder).
  4. Import delimited text (*.csv) file into QGIS. Export layer as shapefile.
  5. Create three versions as suggested by underdark and set Time Manager settings.
  6. Export sequence to series of images.
  7. Use AviSynth and VirtualDub to create video.
About ericcompas

Eric Compas, Assistant Professor at the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater in the Geography and Geology Department.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Visualizing recall signatures for Scott Fitzgerald

  1. Aria says:

    This map is really great! I work for a nonprofit and we are trying to create one, but I think I am in a little over my head. I managed to get all of my data points to appear in Quantum, but there is no map of WI behind them. I think I am supposed to upload a map with the “add raster layer” button but I am not sure where to get that from.
    Any advice you could give me would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

